BOOK REVIEW: ‘MY BIGGEST MISTAKE’ BY LEDDY HARPER

25734140

Synopsis:

Edie had spent her whole life planning her future, imagining her husband, her kids, and even which minivan she’d drive. Lucky for her, she didn’t have to wait long, marrying her high school sweetheart right after graduation.

All of Edie’s dreams had come true, until they were no longer her dreams. Unable to deal with the lingering depression caused by having children, she left her whole life behind, walking away from the one thing she’d always wanted.

Donovan Leery loved his wife with everything he had and could never imagine life without her. Until he came home from work one day and found a letter from Edie, explaining she needed a break. Not only leaving him to live his life without her, but alone to raise their three small children.

But what happens when Edie is ready to come home? When she’s ready to fight for it all back? She knew it wouldn’t be easy. But she didn’t care. After spending years getting her life back together, she was ready to fight for her family. And a fight is what Donovan would give her.

She’d fight to make up for her Biggest Mistake.

**** MY REVIEW****

4 stars.

It took me four days after reading this book to get my thoughts in order. This one stayed with me and haunted my thoughts days after I read it. I can’t say that about very many books. Usually you read about the man leaving the woman and kid(s) behind, but in this one the tables were turned. This time it was the wife who left her loving husband (I freaking LOVED him) and 3 small children behind.

I HATED Edie at first because not many details were given about her sudden need to leave her family behind. I wanted to understand but I couldn’t without all the details. I was Team Donnie for a long time. Then the author starts to drop hints here and there. Still…. how could someone do this, to not only her husband- who was damn near perfect- but to her 3 adorable little children as well? Once I got the details I understood more. HOWEVER, (and this is why I deducted 1 star) there was one scene towards the end where I wanted to die for Donnie. He finds out Edie did something pretty horrible a couple of years ago during her dark period,and I am not going to even lie here, I wanted him to run far far away from her and never look back. Just no. He didn’t deserve any of that. Okay I’ll stop ranting there. Just know it might be hard for some people to read about and you’ll know what I mean when you get there.

Edie was severely depressed and in a period of extreme darkness with what she thought was no way out when she left her family. It was actually pretty heartbreaking to read what her thoughts were like at that time. She left because she thought her kids and Donnie would be better off in the long run. This is one of those stories where you don’t know how it’s going to end until you get there. It looks to be one way at first, then takes a little turn and doesn’t end how you initially thought it would. I had just accepted it would end how I thought it was going to end, then it surprised me. This book is all about mistakes, how to make them right and live with what you did- not just to yourself- but to others, and being able to forgive. It’s angsty, so buckle up.

Leave a Reply

